What’s Going On December 6th?

Today I thought I’d introduce you to one of my favourite advertising campaigns for anything ever, just in case you’ve missed it. Granted, it’s not really Christmas-related; unless of course, you think of it as a gift of beauty and imagination from me to you.

It’s David Bowie’s advert for Louis Vuitton.

Bowie is definitely one of my style icons (as you may have noticed here), so this is like a dream come true for me. The campaign comprises of both a series of photographs and a short film. Directed by Romain Gavras and starring model Arizona Muse, this short marks the first television advert ever created for Louis Vuitton. Bowie hauntingly serenades an opulent Venetian masked ball with a version of “I’d Rather Be High,” a track from his latest album, as Muse floats in on an illuminated balloon, like something from a very chic fairytale.

The pictures are dazzling, with Muse flaunting her Louis Vuitton bag and Bowie peering at her mysteriously in a way reminiscent of his role in the 1986 film, “Labyrinth.”

dec 6 1dec 6 2 The campaign has Venice, hot air balloons, impeccable style and Mr Bowie himself. What’s not to love?

dec 6 3

Happy December 6th!

