What’s Going On The Red Carpet?

The most exciting part of an awards ceremony is (obviously) what the rich and famous choose to wear for the occasion. You know if you’re walking down that red carpet, the critical eyes of the world are on you; imagine the pressure! I don’t think I could handle it if I spent hours getting ready, and then woke up to newspapers all over the world slamming my hair or my choice of outfit!

15

I suppose that the problem with fame is that you can’t please everyone, and, of course, everybody is going to have different opinions when it comes to what you wear! Saying that, I thought I’d write a little post about what I loved (and didn’t love) about what everybody was wearing last night at the BAFTAs.

Bafta statuettes

On a whole, the colour scheme was fairly neutral, with black, of course, played a leading role on the red carpet; the classic shade was the choice of both Laura Carmichael, who went for strapless Erdem, and Cate Blanchett, who chose a floral McQueen gown with a gorgeous statement necklace by Chopard.

89

Amy Adams also went for black, in the form of a piece by Victoria Beckham, and (in my opinion) she looks fierce. The classically sleek silhouette is given just that little injection of edge by the sheer bodice, and as simple as this look may be, I still think she looks great.

6

It is perhaps impossible for Uma Thurman to look anything less than flawless, a point the actress proved once again in this simple yet painfully elegant black Atelier Versace gown, the perfection of which is highlighted by the classic Chopard diamonds at her throat. 

1

However, it was navy which seemed to be the chief recurring theme on last night’s red carpet, featuring in the many glamorous ensembles of many glamorous women. Maggie Gyllenhaal donned this heavily embellished Lanvin gown, which I am very much on the fence about. Its got lace, and I love lace. Its got embroidery, and I love embroidery. Its got sparkle, and how I love sparkle; but together, all these elements feel just a bit too much. I think my biggest problem is with the bodice; it looks like she borrowed it from a Pearly Queen. Apart from that, I like it; and props to her for the bold choice.

2

Joséphine de La Baume (French actress, married to DJ Mark Ronson) looked beautiful, if a little unremarkable, in navy Marios Schwab, whilst Michelle Rodriguez paired dark blue with black leather in this figure-hugging design.

713

Meanwhile, Helen Mirren, who last night received a BAFTA Fellowship Award, wore the most stunning midnight blue dress by Jacques Azagury. The dropped waist and chiffon skirt are perfectly elegant, and the jewelled detailing which adorns the sheer sleeves and dropped panel is just so beautiful.

3

Gillian Anderson also went for navy, this time in the form of a 1949 Balmain dress, with a vertically striped bodice, from William Vintage. Personally, I am not a huge fan of this gown; something is just a little off, whether it is the slight crease in the material, or the way that it swamps her figure. 

4

Presenter Fearne Cotton also opted for a William Vintage dress, this time an embellished 1980s Scaasi vision in sparkling bronze, which she paired with black Jimmy Choo shoes and a stylish bob. This look is perhaps a little over the top for most tastes, and the high neck and long sleeves do feel very heavy on her body, but you know what, I don’t think I care – I like it.

5

I do not like Lily Allen’s choice. I’ve been reading some mixed opinions on this bold Vivienne Westwood creation, and I just cannot be persuaded to like it. The bright magenta skirt and ruffled orange bodice swallow her in a colourful whole, whilst the coral bow around the waist just transforms her into a badly wrapped present. Oh, and those pale pink hair-bristle-things…?

10

Thank god for Lupita Nyong’o, who has not let me down after her stylish success at the Golden Globes, where she wowed us all with that Ralph Lauren caped gown. She’s stolen the show once more with this beautiful, emerald green Dior, the colour of which is perfectly complimented by the gold belt and the Ana Khouri cuffs which Nyong’o wears on each arm. On an otherwise fairly muted red carpet, this splash of colour is just a delight, and it suits her skin tone perfectly, whilst that long train just oozes glamour. I can’t wait to see what she chooses to wear next!

Lupita Nyong'o

Unlike her fellow stars, Emma Thompson seemed to realise that the cold British weather can present certain sartorial opportunities, which she took full advantage of when she rocked out this lovely cream Maria Grachvogel coat. You might not have noticed, but it has a pretty big fur collar; its February, why not? I love a good statement coat, and this one perfectly compliments the red dress, also a Maria Grachvogel, which Ms Thompson wears below it.

10

Of course, it is fair to say that Brad and Angelina stole the show in their matching Yves Saint-Laurent tuxedos. Now, in normal life, I would defriend any couple who decided to go to a party all matchy-matchy. However, this is Brad and Angelina, and (more importantly) they are wearing the most beautifully tailored suits, so I think I can excuse them. Angelina’s androgynous choice sets her apart from all the dozens of full-length gowns which adorn the catwalk, and the result is an extremely chic, extremely sophisticated, understated statement.

11

So, which red carpet look would you most like to steal? Are there any you would like to burn in order to rid the world of its hideousness? Let me know your thoughts!

