What’s Going On Your Face?

A couple of  days ago, I was fighting a losing battle with my foundation; the sort of battle which comes around at about this time every year when the sun comes out, bringing the freckles all over my face out along with it. This, I have always felt, is one of the downsides to being very pale!

But once I started doing my research (yes, I did google “fashion icons with freckles, don’t judge me) I realised that I am in good company; so many beautiful, successful women not only have freckles, but proudly flaunt them like any other physical asset. The likes of Emma Stone, Emma Watson and Penélope Cruz frequently show off their freckled faces on the red carpet; and if they can do it, why can’t I?

emmastone

I think part of the reason that my first instinct was to hide my freckles is down to the way that they have been somewhat ostracised; historically, freckles have been seen as an imperfection, something which suggested that you had been out working in the sun for too long. Up until the 1920s, the ideal beauty was pale and unblemished, the mark of a wealthy woman who has all the time in the world too sit indoors and look after  her appearance.

freckle-cream

The 1960s, the decade of youth and revolution, was particularly influential when it came to freeing the freckle. Some of the most iconic faces of the time were freckled, including Twiggy, Mia Farrow and Penelope Tree.

twiggy

Today proves to be an even greater jump away from the articles in the fashion magazines of one hundred years ago, which gave tips on how to remove or cover up freckles. Many of the models we see on the pages of magazines are proudly freckled; just look at Bar Refaeli, Lily Cole and Adwoa Aboah, amongst others.

58-MAA-2

Indeed, today, the emphasis is not even just on letting them shine, but actually on faking it if you don’t have it. Lancômbe have had a “freckle pencil” for years, and Topshop recently launched their own DIY freckle pencil. To someone who has strived to cover their freckles for years, this seems (on the one hand) completely crazy, but it is also somehow affirming to realise that some people are literally buying the means to fake something I, and many other people, already have.

lilyyyy

So from here on out, I solemnly swear never to hate on my freckles again; your skin is yours, and its unique to you, so why cover it up? Freckles, not war, man.

 

