Orla Kiely; What’s Going On?

Although she has only been showing at London Fashion Week for four seasons now, Irish designer Orla Kiely has already built up a reputation for her memorable displays, and I’m always impressed by the slightly quirky, 1960s vibe of her designs. This season’s showing was no exception, with models carrying big wooden flowers and planting them in pots on stage, as Californian artist Alia Penner painted wildflowers on a glass screen. A garden was, literally, coming into bloom.

21320

The colour palette reflected this idea of a garden, with pinks, blues and yellows galore. The 1960s-style shift dresses that I always love from Orla Kiely were back, as were the cute collared blouses paired with high-waisted skirts; I always love the way that she mixes mismatching patterns in these separates, and I cannot emphasise how much I love this blue gingham skirt and floral blouse. I just really really love it.

719

Its the shoes, however, that are always my favourite aspect of an Orla Kiely collection; the platform T-bars in which the models strutted along the catwalk this season belong either in the 1960s or in my wardrobe.

1856

The bags were also stand-out, whether they were classic little holdalls or big, appliqued flowers. Belted, patterned dresses were also among my favourites; again, I loved the vintage vibes that these emitted when paired with platforms and little handbags.

221614

Once again, Orla Kiely has created the kind of clothes that I myself would love to wear every day; they’re fun, they’re stylish, and they’re beautiful. Perfect for all you vintage-loving flower babies out there.

 

1134

191724

